Interlake Tourism members attend Travel Mb. Provincial awards Gala- One comes home with the Award!

The ballroom of the Delta Hotel was set for a Gala affair as the Tourism industry from across Manitoba gathered to showcase the many great products and services offered by tourism partners in Manitoba.

Bringing home the Award to the Interlake this year was the non-profit Volunteer group -the West Interlake Trading Company based out of Warren in the southwest area of the region. This group of dedicated volunteers began forming partnerships in 1999 at it’s inception as they realized they needed to Partner with a number of businesses and groups in order to offer unique and interesting tourism products and offerings in this more isolated area of the region. With dual purposes of saving the 1948 Grain Elevator – one of the last few remaining “Prairie Sentinels” and using this as a focus to offer unique products and services in a small rural area this “company of volunteers” began its journey into tourism adventures working in training, marketing and delivery of services [some early experiential tourism offerings], with numerous partners over these years.

From educational offerings to weddings to tourism workshops, this group has showcased the offerings of the area and has stirred the pot of multiple layered tourism events while maintaining excellence of service, strong partnerships and keeping an eye on the big target of providing new experiences for the visitors. Some of the founding members of the organization [Tina Fotheringham, Jim Fotheringham, Darrin Mason, Lana Cowling-Mason & Gail McDonald] were on hand last night to accept the award from Minister of Tourism Flor Marcelino and Travel Mb. Chair of the Board Bob Sparrow.

Congratulations to all the winners of the awards from around Manitoba and to our other 4 Finalists representing the Interlake: Danny’s Whole Hog BBQ for Service Excellence, Oak Hammock Marsh for Aboriginal Tourism Award, Pat Eyolfson for Volunteer of the Year Award and The Icelandic Festival of Manitoba for the Award of Distinction. Thank you to all for your ongoing dedication and hard work in providing exemplary service and tourism products and working cooperatively to make the Interlake a premiere destination in Manitoba.